Five years ago, SpaceCoast Business inaugurated our annual Business Leaders of the Year recognition. Since then, such notable individuals as Carol Craig, Jim Barfield, Stan Payne and, last year, Lynda Weatherman and Robert Whelen of the EDC were selected. In 2008, the first SCB Business Leader of the Year was George Mikitarian of Parrish Medical Center.

Today, Parrish continues to garner national recognition under Mikitarian’s leadership. He was quoted in that 2008 issue as saying, “We are in a constant pursuit of perfection;” it is a pursuit Mikitarian has been relentless in continuing.