What makes a powerful person, powerful?  Many agree with the timeless 17th Century maxim, “Knowledge is power.”  But someone else observed, “It’s not what you know, it’s who you know, that makes the difference,” and certainly power is often defined by one’s networking influence.  Of course, there is also the interesting twist on the Golden Rule, “He who has the gold, makes the rules.”  Undoubtedly, financial resources are a source of power – ask the Chinese or the Saudis.

When considering powerful people, it is how one uses their knowledge, their influence and their resources that makes them truly powerful.  We defined a “powerful person” as an individual who, because of his/her influence, character, accomplishments and position is able to shape the opinions, goals and direction of our community in order to stimulate action and cause positive results. Spacecoast Business polled a broad spectrum of people within our community to identify the ‘100 Most Powerful People on the Space Coast.’  So, though we have compiled the list, it is the leaders in our area that have identified who the most powerful truly are.

First Name Last Name Title Company
Kim Agee Owner Agee Consulting
Thad Altman Senator, District 24 Florida Senate
Mark Balmer Pastor Cavalry Chapel of Melbourne
Jim Barfield President Luke and Associates
Bob Baugher President Cocoa Beach Surf Company
Brian Binggeli Superintendent Brevard Public Schools
Michael Blake Mayor City of Cocoa
Mary Bolin County Commissioner, District 4 Brevard County Board of County Commissioners
David Brock President/CEO Community Credit Union
Kim Brown Chief Financial Officer Coastal Mechanical Services
Chris Burton President Christopher Burton Homes
Robert Cabana Director Kennedy Space Center
Anthony Catanese President Florida Institute of Technology
Dr. Silas Charles Founder Cancer Care Centers of Brevard
Frank Coles President/CEO Globe Wireless
Richard Covey President/CEO United Space Alliance
Carol Craig President/CEO Craig Technologies
Steve Crisafulli Representative, District 32 Florida House of Representatives
Bill Cunningham Senior Partner Business Advisers International
Rev. Glenn Dames Pastor St. James A.M.E. Church
Frank DiBello President Space Florida
Roger Dobson Partner Ocean Partners
Dr. James Drake President Brevard Community College
Tracy Duda Chapman Chief Executive Officer The Viera Company
Bill Ellis Government/Industry Relations Health First
Scott Ellis Clerk of the Court Brevard County
Richard Ennis Executive Director Melbourne International Airport
Betsy Farmer Executive Director Brevard Business Leadership Network
Phil Farmer Retired CEO Harris Corp.
Lee Feldman City Manager City of Palm Bay
Bunny Finney Community Volunteer, Philanthropist
Robin Fisher County Commissioner, District 1 Brevard County Board of County Commissioners
Nina Gadodia Community Volunteer, Philanthropist
Mitch Garner President/CEO Symetrics Industries
Larry Garrison EVP, Chief Operating Officer Health First
Pam Gatto President Gatto’s Tire & Auto Service
George Geletko Florida Government Affairs Director Waste Management, Inc.
Carey Gleason Assistant VP, Advancement & Community Relations Florida Institute of Technology
Joe Glover Owner Glover Oil Co.
Myra Haley Community Volunteer, Philanthropist
Paul Hanson VP, Operations & General Manager Bright House Networks
Mike Haridopolos Senator, District 26 Florida Senate
Randy Harris Project Manager IOMS
Debbie Harvey President/COO Ron Jon Surf Shop
Bjornar Hermansen Entrepreneur, philanthropist
Tony Hernandez Attorney Law Offices of Tony Hernandez, III
Dr. Heider Heshmati Executive Director Brevard County Health Department
Charles (Chas) Hoyman Managing Director Hoyman Dobson
Steve Johnson President The Viera Company
Darcia Jones Francey Community Volunteer, Philanthropist
Robert Jordan School Board Member, District 1 Brevard Public Schools
Franck Kaiser EVP, Chief Executive Officer Home Builders & Contractors Association of Brevard
Chris Kennedy President/CEO Viera Hospital
Dale Ketchum Director Spaceport Research and Technology Institute
Dana Kilborne President/CEO Prime Bank
Malcolm Kirschenbaum Attorney Gray Robinson
Jim LaHam Partner Berman Hopkins Wright & LaHam CPAs
Christine Lance Community Volunteer, Philanthropist
Howard Lance Chairman, President/CEO Harris Corp
Dr. Richard Levine President Space Coast Cancer Centers
Ann Luke Area President Wachovia Bank
Ali Majeed County Court Judge Brevard County
Joe McClure Chairman, CEO, President MIMA
Mike Means President/CEO Health First
George Mikitarian President/CEO Parrish Medical Center
Mark Mikolajczyk President and Publisher Florida Today
Emil Miller President/CEO Wuesthoff Health System
Kendall Moore Attorney Johnson Law Center, P.A.
Chuck Nelson County Commissioner, District 2 Brevard County Board of County Commissioners
Al Neuharth Founder USA Today
Sam Pak Chief Executive Officer Appliance Direct
Jack Parker Sheriff Brevard County Sheriff’s Office
Stan Payne Chief Executive Officer Canaveral Port Authority
Tom Poehailis General Manager/Area Director Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront Resort
Bill Posey Congressman U.S. House of Representatives
Rob Rains President United Way of Brevard
Lisa Rice President Brevard Workforce
Jim Ridenour General Manager Residence Inn Melbourne and Courtyard by Marriott Melbourne West
Shay Rowe Owner, General Manager Mercedes-Benz, Porsche, Audi of Melbourne
Doug Samuels President/CEO Space Coast Credit Union
Sandy Sanderson Area Manager, East Central Florida Florida Power & Light
Ed Scott Entrepreneur, philanthropist
Mike Shah President Southeast Petro Distributors and All American Oil
Jeff Shuman VP, Human Resources & Corporate Relations Harris Corp.
Bernie Simpkins Entrepreneur, philanthropist
Scott Sorensen President/CEO Sorensen Allied Moving & Storage
Jason Steele Chairman Brevard Republican Executive Committee
Jim Stivers President Certified General Contractors, Inc.
Alfredo Teran President/CEO AJT & Associates
Laurilee Thompson Owner Dixie Crossroads
Howard Tipton County Manager Brevard County
Frank Tsamoutales Owner Tsamoutales Strategies
Rob Varley Executive Director Space Coast Office of Tourism
Tom Vice Sector Vice President & General Manager Northrop Grumman
Lynda Weatherman President/CEO Economic Development Commission of Florida’s Space Coast
Ken Whittaker Principal Whittaker Cooper Financial Group
Mike Williams President M.H. Williams Construction
Shellie Williams Executive Director Brevard Cultural Alliance
Jimmy Zhao Owner Red Ginger Asian Bistro
Milo Zonka Councilman City of Palm Bay