The City of Cocoa was founded by fishermen in the 1860’s. It was originally called “Indian River City” in 1882, but that name was too long according to U.S. Postal authorities. Where the name “Cocoa” actually came from no one is certain. The ‘Aladdin’ theatre opened in 1924 and was renamed the ‘State Theatre’ in 1939, but is now known as Cocoa Village Playhouse. It was a popular movie house that served most of central Brevard County. “Cocoa Village,” the quaint, picturesque destination for locals and tourists, was the result of a historic preservation and urban renewal project started in the 1980’s.